Last year’s winner Almandin and this year’s Caulfield Cup winner Boom Time head up the second acceptances for the 2017 Group 1 $6.25m Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) at Flemington on November 7.

Caulfield Cup winner Boom Tie, above, is among the 36 second acceptors for the 2017 Melbourne Cup at Flemington. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

Caulfield Cup winner Boom Tie, above, is among the 36 second acceptors for the 2017 Melbourne Cup at Flemington. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Godolphin owned Hartnell is also a surprise second acceptor for the Melbourne Cup after it was mooted that the seven year old would be targeted towards the Group 1 $2m Emirates Stakes (2000m) at Flemington on November 11 on the last day of the four day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Thirty-six horses are still in the contention for the Melbourne Cup following the second acceptances with the Lindsay Park trained Boom Time sitting at the top of the order of entry ahead of the Darren Weir trained Amelie’s Star who booked a spot in ‘The Race That Stops A Nation’ with her win in the Group 3 $300,000 The Bart Cummings (2500m) at Flemington on October 7.

As well as Amelie’s Stars, leading Victorian trainer Darren Weir also has Ladbrokes Cox Plate runner up to Winx, Humidor, Randwick’s St Leger winner Big Duke, Kellstorm and Guardini still in contention.

As well as Almandin, the Lloyd Williams, Robert Hickmott owner-trainer combination have accepted with Bondi Beach, Gallante, Aloft and Foundry while Williams is also a part owner of the Aidan O’Brien trained Johannes Vermeer.

Irish stayer Johannes Vermeer is one of twelve overseas trained horses still in contention for the 2017 Melbourne Cup and is coming off a third behind Boom Time and Single Gaze in the Group 1 $3.15m BMW Caulfield Cup (2400m) at Caulfield on October 21.

English stayer Marmelo ran a slashing trial for the Melbourne Cup with an eye catching sixth in the Caulfield Cup while runner up Single Gaze is also among the second acceptances.

Caulfield Cup winning trainers David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig still have three horses in line for the Melbourne Cup and as well as Boom Time, have Ventura Storm and Harlem.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller, fresh off of a third Ladbrokes Cox Plate win with Winx, has three of his team among the second acceptances, last Saturday’s Moonee Valley Gold Cup quinella Who Shot Thebarman and Libran as well as Alward who is yet to pass the first ballot clause of the Melbourne Cup.

Veteran stayer Who Shot Thebarman was back in the winner’s circle for the first time in two years but escaped a penalty for the Melbourne Cup for his win in the Group 2 $300,000 McCafe Moonee Valley Gold Cup (2500m) at The Valley.

The final acceptances for the 2017 Melbourne Cup will be taken at 4:30pm, Melbourne Time, on Saturday November 4.

Early betting for the 2017 Melbourne Cup at $6.50 Almandin, $7.50 Humidor, $8 Marmelo, $11 Johannes Vermeer, Red Cardinal, Wall Of Fire, $15 Rekindling, $17 Thomas Hobson, Max Dynamite, $21 Big Duke, $26 Amelie’s Star, Harlem, Single Gaze, $31 Tiberian, Boom Time, $34 Nakeeta, Abbey Marie, Jon Snow, Ventura Storm, Who Shot Thebarman, $41 Hartnell, US Army Ranger, Wicklow Brave, Bondi Beach, $51 or better the rest.

The second acceptances for the 2017 Melbourne Cup

# Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Pen. Hcp Rating
1 6510×39341 BOOM TIME H 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 1 53kg 1.0kg 7.5
2 214×839410 AMELIE’S STAR M 6 Darren Weir 2 51kg 7
3 x2822x1229 HARTNELL (GB) G 7 James Cummings 3 57.5kg 2
4 665111×214 ALMANDIN (GER) G 8 Robert Hickmott 4 56.5kg 3
5 7311×68139 JON SNOW (NZ) H 4 Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 5 54.5kg 3.5
6 212×681352 HUMIDOR (NZ) G 5 Darren Weir 6 56kg 3.5
7 242x11711x TIBERIAN (FR) H 6 Alain Couetil 7 55.5kg 4
8 210×140124 REKINDLING (GB) H 4 Joseph O’Brien 8 51.5kg 4
9 1132x11x5x RED CARDINAL (IRE) G 6 Andreas Wohler 9 55kg 4.5
10 232x1521x6 MARMELO (GB) H 5 Hughie Morrison 10 55kg 4.5
11 2612×05442 SINGLE GAZE M 5 Nick Olive 11 53kg 5
12 3x45712x23 JOHANNES VERMEER (IRE) H 5 Aidan O’Brien 12 54.5kg 5
13 3642×94491 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 9 Chris Waller 13 54kg 5.5
14 1x2x30x91x MAX DYNAMITE (FR) G 8 William Mullins 14 54kg 5.5
15 121x5x7620 VENTURA STORM (IRE) H 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 15 54kg 5.5
16 0x81424440 WICKLOW BRAVE (GB) G 9 William Mullins 16 54kg 5.5
17 x11x330x90 BONDI BEACH (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 17 54kg 5.5
18 428×320386 US ARMY RANGER (IRE) H 5 Joseph O’Brien 18 53.5kg 6
19 113×550214 BIG DUKE (IRE) G 6 Darren Weir 19 53.5kg 6
20 031x270x07 GALLANTE (IRE) G 7 Robert Hickmott 20 53kg 6.5
21 746Px61652 LIBRAN (IRE) G 7 Chris Waller 21 53kg 6.5
22 22x141x40x QEWY (IRE) G 8 Charlie Appleby 22 53kg 6.5
23 202x024x1x NAKEETA (GB) G 7 Iain Jardine 23 53kg 6.5
24 11x6248x22 WALL OF FIRE (IRE) H 5 Hugo Palmer 24 53kg 6.5
25 8400×72586 ABBEY MARIE M 5 Michael Kent 25 51.5kg 6.5
26 9P01712x72 THOMAS HOBSON (GB) G 8 William Mullins 26 52kg 7.5
27 4x386x5158 HARLEM (GB) H 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 27 51.5kg 0.5kg 8.5
28 x39x12x139 ALOFT (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 28 51.5kg 8
29 30x33x2410 FOUNDRY (IRE) H 8 Robert Hickmott 29 51kg 1.0kg 8.5
30 2x542x9981 VENGEUR MASQUE (IRE) G 6 Michael Moroney 30 50.5kg 0.5kg
31 97860×0496 PENTATHLON (NZ) G 6 John Wheeler 31 50.5kg 9
32 5223×54165 COOL CHAP G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 32 50kg 9.5
33 x232521033 CISMONTANE (NZ) G 5 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 33= 50kg 9.5
34 1735111636 KELLSTORM (IRE) H 5 Darren Weir 33= 50kg 9.5
35 x621x02003 GUARDINI (FR) H 7 Darren Weir 35 53kg 6.5
36 4×54114112 ALWARD (IRE) G 5 Chris Waller 36 50kg 9.5