The all-powerful Godolphin Team will have six runners plus one emergency in the final field for the 2019 Group 1 $3.5m Longines Golden Slipper (1200m) at Rosehill on Saturday.

Tenley, above, is one of several Godolphin owned two year olds to run in the 2019 Golden Slipper at Rosehill. Photo by Steve Hart.

Tenley, above, is one of several Godolphin owned two year olds to run in the 2019 Golden Slipper at Rosehill. Photo by Steve Hart.

Trainer James Cummings has supplied five of the top sixteen final acceptors who will carry the famous royal blue colours, Microphone, Tenley, Pin Sec, Kiamichi, and Exhilarates plus the first emergency Bivouac while Melbourne trainer Anthony Freedman will saddle up Godolphin’s Blue Diamond Stakes winner Lyre.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller will be looking to win his first Golden Slipper with Yes Yes Yes who won at his first run for the stable after being transferred from Darren Weir’s team.

Yes Yes Yes raced into Golden Slipper calculation with his win in the Group 2 $300,000 UNSW Todman Stakes (1200m) at Randwick on March 9 and is fighting for favouritism at the top of the market order at while Tenley, Microphone, Exhilarates and Lyre are all in the top five in the betting.

Trainer Peter And Paul Snowden will be looking for anther Golden Slipper win after taking the major prize with Capitalist in 2016 while Peter Snowden prepared Sepoy to win in 2011.

Team Snowden have three two year olds in the main field, Cosmic Force, Anaheed and Catch Me as well as the second emergency Rome.

Warwick Farm trainer Gary Portelli won the Golden Slipper in 2017 with She Will Reign and will be hoping to find the winner’s stall again with Time To Reign.

2019 Golden Slipper field

  1. Yes Yes Yes (19) – Trainer Chris Waller (Jockey Blake Shinn)
  2. Microphone (1) – James Cummings (Hugh Bowman)
  3. Time To Reign (9) – Gary Portelli (Jason Collett)
  4. Free Of Debt (10) – Chris Bieg (Dwayne Dunn)
  5. Cosmic Force (2) – Peter and Paul Snowden (Mark Zahra)
  6. Dubious (16) – Ciaron Maher and David Eustace (Michael Walker)
  7. Lyre (13) – Anthony Freedman (Luke Currie)
  8. Lankan Star (3) – David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig (Damien Oliver)
  9. Tenley (6) – James Cummings (James McDonald)
  10. Pin Sec (5) – James Cummings (Tommy Berry)
  11. Anaheed (7) – Peter and Paul Snowden (Tim Clark)
  12. Kiamichi (17) – James Cummings (Damian Lane)
  13. Catch Me (12) – Peter and Paul Snowden (Corey Brown)
  14. Vincere Volare (11) – Tony Gollan (Sam Clipperton)
  15. Exhilarates (18) – James Cummings (Kerrin McEvoy)
  16. Loving Gaby (15) – Ciaron Maher and David Eustace (Oisin Murphy)
  17. Bivouac (8) (first emergency) – James Cummings (Brad Rawiller)
  18. Rome (4) (second emergency) – Peter and Paul Snowden (_)
  19. Bellevue Hill (14) (third emergency) – Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott (_)




The post Godolphin have 6 in final 2019 Golden Slipper field appeared first on